cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

General Discussions

Katakuri2024
Journeyman III

Why do so many users choose AMD to Intel?

Since I am VERY new to practically everything gaming PC-related, I sincerely apologise if this is a stupid question. However, I recently decided to build my own PC and I did a lot of research on AMD vs. Intel. Almost single article I've read claims that Intel is superior to AMD because it is more affordable, has higher performance, etc. However, I've seen many more AMD gaming rigs than Intel builds. Does this have a rationale that I'm unaware of? Again, I apologise if this is a silly question, but I'm not sure what I'm asking.

0 Likes
13 Replies
Justifier
Challenger

Price was my reason. That and 12th gen wasn't out yet.

While I'd have still went for the Radeon GPU. If I were building a pc again at this moment, I'd be leaning toward a 12900k with DDR4+5 support, with a caveat. It would have to be a board that only had 2 ram slots.

(and I'd get DDR 4, not 5. DDR 5 needs to mature for about a year before its worth snot.)

As I don't think there are any which meet those criteria... well maybe some ITX board does now that I think of it

Yeah I'd be looking at a ITX or mITX board that supports both DDR 4 and DDR 5. If that's not on the market, I wouldn't even consider a DDR 5 capable platform right now

And that's purely due to the ram tuning capabilities of DDR 4

14900k • Z790 Apex Encore • 4090 • 2x24Gb-8000 • 1200 Corsair Shift • 420mm Arctic II Push-Pull • Noctua • Fractal Torrent • Guilded.gg/justifiers
gotgrant
Adept III

I went with AMD because of Price to Performance was better than Intel at the time.

While I personally like AMD - I am not opposed to Intel- but until 12th gen the price to performance was beat out by AMD.

johnnyenglish
Grandmaster

My first ever computer that I put my hands on was this Apple SE when I was like sub10 years old

johnnyenglish_0-1663368573142.png

Having said that..