3 Replies Latest reply on Nov 8, 2011 5:50 PM by suravee

drill down to C functions

offspring

Hi all,

I am a newbie to CodeAnalyst and I would really like your help.

As we all know, functions offered by C libraries, like malloc, free etc, have their own code. When I want to analyze a C program with CodeAnalyst, I try to drill down to these functions, specifically malloc, and the only thing I see is a weird assembly code which shows that a call is being made to the code of malloc!!!

Is there a way to see the malloc's code (in C preferably)? Should I include more files in the working directory? Which are these files and how can I include them?

Thank you all

• drill down to C functions
          antzrhere

I assume if it is a precompiled library it won't include the original C source, so there is nothing to see.

offspring

After the answer of Antzrhere, I tried the following trick. I downloaded the folder of glibc-2.13 and saved it in the desktop. So, instead of using the precompiled libraries, I used the files that are contained in the glibc-2.13 folder. The program was perfectly compiled and executed. However when I drilled down to the source, with CodeAnalyst, and double-clicked the following instruction:

int *ptr = (int *) malloc(10 * sizeof (int));

it showed me the following instructions:

mov    $0x28,%edi              bf 28 00 00 00                               
              callq  400470 <malloc@plt>     e8 d3 fe ff ff                               
              mov    %rax,-0x10(%rbp)        48 89 45 f0

which are not instructions of malloc function but just a call to it. Is there a proper configuration that I should do?

suravee

Since you are linking to a shared library, when you call a function which is in the shared library, it will actually call the "Procedure Linkage Table (PLT)" as part of dynamic linking for ELF.