6 Replies Latest reply on Feb 11, 2013 11:29 PM by pssingh1001

Aggressive Optimizations

Calli82

Hi,

i would like to compile a shared library for an embedded system with Geode processor (32bit). There are hundreds of optimization flags in gcc and AMD x86 Open 64 Compiler Suite. Which options would be effective behind -Ofast in AMD CS? Is it actually useful to compile for the geode with the AMD CS instead of gcc?

Thank you for your opinions.

Calli82

• Aggressive Optimizations
          kvikrant

Hi,

The performance difference between gcc and open64 will depend on the kind of code you have. So to know that you will have to actually go ahead and do a comparison. Some people on the forum have already posted good performance improvements using Open64 over GCC. But those have been for Phenom's, a much newer architecture as compared to Geode which is quite similar to Athlon cores (to the best of my knowledge, I'm not a geode expert). So your mileage may vary.

Since I dont know your code behaviour, I can only suggest very general things like: feedback directed optimization, inlining, loop optimizations, etc. Theses are very well described in the users guide, which I encourage you to explore in depth and do multiple tests.

Regards

Vikrant

• Re: Aggressive Optimizations
              erotavlas

Hi all,

I have found this guide http://developer.amd.com/Assets/CompilerOptQuickRef-61004100.pdf on ufficial AMD website. I'm compiling with GCC 4.6.2 and I would like to know if the parameters specified in guide are the best or I can add other parameters like the following example:

from the guide

-O3 -march=barcelona -fschedule-insns -fschedule-insns2 -fsched-pressure -funroll-all-loops -fprefetch-loop-arrays --param prefetch-latency=300 -minline-all-stringops -fno-tree-pre -ftree-vectorize

additional parameters

Compiler