cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Server Gurus Discussions

Abstract_Principles
Journeyman III

AOCL math libraries path settings (BLIS for scientific computing on AMD)

Hi!

I am a PhD student in chemical engineering.

I use commonly FEM multiphysics softwares like Comsol and Ansys. Recently we switched from Intel to a new AMD based machine for computing (Threadripper 3970x and so on). Regarding Comsol, there is a known issue using AMD instead Intel processors, because the program works with embedded math libraries developed and optimized by Intel for their own processors (MKL) that cripples computing performances (intentionally) on AMD cpu. To overcome the problem, there is also the possibility to start the program with generic blas libraries embedded, but to work properly (optimized calculation, routines meaning smaller computing times) I would set AMD specific math libraries fot zen2 threadrippers.

Here there is the AMD page for AOCL libraries: https://developer.amd.com/amd-aocl/

I use both windows and linux on that machine, but the question is about windows environment.

The program gives the possibility to set a path for specific third part libraries (see the attached picture taken from the manual).

program setting manualprogram setting manualThis is the point: I've tried, but maybe I commit some syntax error in the command to set the library path. I tried different paths, but I can't see any improvment in the compunting performances (if I switch from MKL to generic embedded blas I can see computing times great improvement). There are many files inside every library folder, both .dll and .lib.

blis folderblis folder