Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Processors

vivek101
Adept I

Ryzen Processor Overclocking Questions

Hello everyone,

I just bought a Ryzen processor, and I want to overclock it to get the most of my system. However, since I'm new to overclocking, I'm hoping some of you can assist me with the following questions:

1. How should a Ryzen processor be overclocked? Should I use a software tool or the BIOS?

2. How much overclocking of my Ryzen processor is safe without causing damage?

3. For overclocking, what kind of cooling system do I need? Will a typical air cooler do, or do I require something more potent?

4. Do I need to change any particular settings to overclock my Ryzen processor? The voltage and frequency need to be changed, but I'm not sure how to achieve them.

I would appreciate any advice or tips you can offer. Thank you in advance for your help!

0 Likes
1 Reply
johnnyenglish
Grandmaster

Overclocking changed a lot, its much more elegant than before, this means, its much more than just get a permanent high clock and get more fps.

In order to understand this, let me bring you up to speed.

Way back then with single core CPU's, the most obvious way to overclock is to move around some jumpers on your board, later on at BIOS level came the possibility to tinker with the multiplier. For a Pentium II 266 we would have 4x66 (aprox) and to overclock my CPU back then I changed to 5x66 (aprox) for a 333mhz OC.

Today, we have we have multi core and single core metrics, as well as GPU or CPU bound games. A "old way" overclock may not bring you the performance you want.

AMD knowing how the world changed also introduced some cool things to pump up the performance like boosting. Your Ryzen CPU has a feature called PBO.

johnnyenglish_0-1681480893611.png