cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Processors

dylanday2017
Adept I

fTPM Screen, Can't use keyboard

I just installed a new CPU in my PC and have booted it up to the fTPM screen where it asks me to press Y or N to either reset the fTPM or not.

The problem is that the computer will not respond to keyboard inputs at all. The keyboard is plugged in with its USB cord and lights up and is on, but the PC won't respond to me pressing anything. I can't get past this screen because of this and have found no info online anywhere.

Is there some way for me to get through this step that I'm missing? I'm very new to doing PC upgrading.

0 Likes
1 Solution

You are a lifesaver. The USB to PS/2 adapter finally arrived. Got through using that, and windows is up and running.  Thank you!

For anyone finding this forum thread in the future, plug your usb keyboard into the USB to PS/2 adapter (linked below on Amazon). Dong so should allow you to use your keyboard in the BIOS instance.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01N5MYE72?psc=1&smid=A10RLP3JOTR16H&ref_=chk_typ_imgToDp

View solution in original post

10 Replies
misterj
Big Boss

dylanday2017, very strange. Please try all USB sockets on your board. I suggest you open a Main Board support request. Good luck, John.

0 Likes

Thank you for the response. I've tried all of the USB ports to the same result unfortunately. How can I open this up as a main board support request? Sorry, new here.

0 Likes

Your mouse doesn't work?

Or you don't have a mouse installed?

Try connecting your Keyboard to a PS/2 Adapter if your Motherboard has one. Normally if USB doesn't work the PS/2 Adapter will:

Screenshot 2023-02-20 182002.png

I need to use the above legacy adapter on my wife's computer because her Wireless Keyboard is not recognized during POST or in BIOS, so I use an old USB Keyboard connected to the PS/2 adapter to be able to enter BIOS and configure settings in BIOS.

0 Likes