Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Processors

jeoozcan
Adept I

About 'AMD Threadripper 3990X sTRX4 3.7/4.5 GHz 64C/128T' processors

Hello,

I bought the mentioned 'AMD Threadripper 3990XsTRX4 3.7/4.5 GHz 64C/128T' processor from Turkey.
I'm a scientist at a University and I bought the processor as part of a project to try out an inversion algorithm I wrote to get the image of the underground.
But I sent the processor to the company in Turkey due to overheating within 6 months.
The company in Turkey said that they did not have the product and offered to refund the money.
As you know, the dollar price has increased compared to the Turkish currency, and I cannot use the money to buy a new processor, so it will be insufficient.
So I asked to buy a new one from the manufacturer. Although it has been 1.5 months since I sent the processor, the processor still has not arrived.

Shout out to AMD officials. Please ensure that your products are tested first before releasing them to the market.
I can't finish my project because of this, I wish I had bought an intel processor, I wouldn't be a victim like this.

Thanks...

0 Likes
1 Solution

What type of CPU Cooler were you using that didn't prevent the Threadripper from overheating?

The processor could have been working fine except the CPU Cooler wasn't powerful enough to maintain the processor from overheating under loads.

You need a powerful AIO Liquid CPU Cooler for that processor.

Also unless the vendor/Retailer you purchased the Threadripper from still had a Warranty in effect and you purchased an official Sealed Retail Box AMD processor than you have a 3 year warranty from AMD.

AMD Warranty starts when the Retailer/Vendor's Warranty or Return date expires.

Unless you purchased a OEM/Tray Threadripper, in which case, the AMD Warranty is voided and only the Retailer/Vendor can warranty your processor.