cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

PC Processors

AZURAclearbluesky
Journeyman III

Ryzen 5 5600 and Ram stuffs

Hallo! I'm new to pc stuffs and gonna ask if Ryzen 5 5600 support  quad channel of DDR4 3600mhz ram, or does it only support lower frequency ram on quad channel

this my motherboard that i bought online ( https://en.colorful.cn/en/home/product?mid=84&id=77739642-fc4e-4092-b0f0-7eda70252e65 )

I'm running a dual 3600mhz (on XMP mode) and i want to add 2 more ram.

here is my specs

Ryzen 5 5600 

CVN B550M Gaming frozen 15

ADATA XPG D50 DDR4 3600Mhz 16gb 2x8

ADATA XPG SX8200 PRO 1TB 

SAPPHIRE Nitro RX 6600XT 

Steampunk 650w 80+silver PSU

(this my first pc build and wanted to upgrade from 16gb ram to 32gb) 

0 Likes
2 Solutions
misterj
Big Boss

AZURAclearbluesky, your processor specifications are here. They should answer most of your questions. If you add more memory, you may want to consider a more powerful power supply. Enjoy, John.

View solution in original post

0 Likes

Most Consumer Motherboards only support Dual Channel RAM.

The motherboard you linked Colorful shows this as its Memory Specs:

Memory 4 DDR4 memory sockets are provided, which can support up to 128 GB of memory (a single socket can support up to 32 GB of memory)
- Support DDR4-4000 (OC)/3800 (OC)/3600 (OC)/3200/2933/2666/2400MHz memory
- Support Extreme Memory Profile (XMP) memory technology
- Supports dual channel memory technology
(* Please visit www.colorful.cn for the latest memory compatibility list)

Normally Motherboards with 8 Dimm Slots (Ram Slots) might support Quad Memory like the ThreadRipper Motherboards that comes with 8 Dimm Slots normally supports Quad Channel and ECC RAM.

Found this article about how you can tell if your motherboard supports Quad Channel or not: https://motherboardsexpert.com/does-my-motherboard-support-quad-channel-memory/