cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Graphics Cards

coolslider
Journeyman III

xfx rx 580 running latest drivers crashing windows 10

i am a strong tech savvy individual i built my last 3 systems and upgraded plenty of hardware.

my problem is xfx rx580 crimson edition 8gb is crashing my computer. be it in a game or even just watching a movie.

rig 1:upgraded ibuypower

fx 8350

asus gaming pro aura mobo

16gb Ram

3 hard drives none SSD

xfx RX580 crimson 8gb

600W evga gold power supply with 2*8 pin connectors for multiple gpus

rig 2: lenovo y520t

8th gen i-7 8700k

8gb ram

1 ssd and 1 2tb hdd

1060 gtx 3gb

475W power supply

PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING RESPONCES

now i have allready modified last 5 states in wattman, uped the power to 50%, manual fan speeds, i've even underclocked the gpu to determine if was overheating issue, now in the past it would crash to a static gray blue and black dancing  static screen like an old tube tv on a station with no channel. now it just crashes my hole computer. at the time i got the card i got a new PSU MOBO CPU and this XFX GPU, and replaced all at the same time so after months of rebooting and going days to weeks with no problem it became annoying at best. so i bought a new system.

Welcome the lenovo y520t gaming rig

now i moved over the PSU and GPU to the lenovo rig so now rig 2 had reg 1s psu and gpu. 20 minutes into fortnite 120 fps system crashed.

thus telling me CPU and MOBO are not to blame on rig 1.

now I took GPU out of rig 2 xfx rx580 and placed it into rig 1 so now rig 1 has for-mentioned hardware minus the PSU that is still in rig 2

now rif rig 1 fails again only hardware moved is GPU if rig 2 fails its the PSU -----RIGHT?

so while watching a movie on rig 1 and playing a game on rig 2 rig 1 crashed

thus telling me that the problem is infact with the GPU