cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Graphics Cards

mattyb584
Journeyman III

7900 XTX Stuttering/Audio Cutting Out

I'm sure this has been posted a million times but I'm pretty lost. No matter what I adjust and on pretty much every game I have been getting frame-drops/stutters and audio cutting out for a couple seconds frequently. The only game I haven't really noticed this issue is Fallout: New Vegas but everything else. I feel like I've tried everything I'm starting to assume this is just a 7900 xtx issue and that I should have gone with Nvidia, that 24 gb of vram sold it though. If you have any questions feel free to ask, any advice feel free to offer and.. yeah. I am new to this all though so try to keep that in mind, thanks!

Oh and if it matters I have the MSI 7900 xtx, 7800x3d, Asrock B650e Riptide board, 32 gb of G.skill neo ddr5 ram, a WD 2 TB SSD, basic 2 fan air cooler... hopefully that's enough. Thanks again!

0 Likes
5 Replies
432hz
Challenger

Here's some items you can start with:

1. Have you always had this issue or is it new?
  2. Did the issues start after a GPU driver update, Windows update, chipset update, BIOS update, hardware upgrade, etc?
  3. What PSU do you have and what is the wattage?
  4. Do you have your GPU connected with 3 separate PSU cables (not daisy-chained)?
  5. Latest non-beta BIOS installed for your mobo?
  6. Latest chipset drivers installed from AMD?
  7. Did you verify your RAM is on your mobo's QVL list for your CPU?
  8. Are you running your RAM with EXPO / XMP enabled? Try disabling EXPO / XMP.
  9. Do you have Ryzen Master installed and have you applied any tuning or overclocks? Try reverting to the default profile and testing.
  10. Have you changed any other settings in your BIOS like PBO, etc? Try reverting to default settings in BIOS and testing.