cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Graphics Cards

slavicpsycho
Adept II

(7900 XTX) High idle power and high VRAM speed on idle

In the picture below you can see on a single 1440p 32" monitor, it uses 100 watts and occasionally jumps to 107 watts on idle. I have a lot of experience but I've never seen anything like this. Is there a temporary workaround? I've tried everything you can find on youtube, reddit, or just talking to people firsthand and I have not been able to fix it. Stuck on 2487 MHz for vram also on idle. No gpu tasks or any third party applications open in the background either. Just windows wallpaper and some desktop icons. It's 170hz but I turned it down to 60hz, literally made 0% difference.

I also tried it on a 7900 XT and it still was at 100 watts. When I unplug the monitor it drops drastically.

Monitor model: VG32AQL1A

EDIT: Also having the same problem on another monitor, Alienware AW2723DF.

Screenshot 2023-08-20 173152.png

62 Replies
maxiarat1
Adept I

I have the same problem, I am using 7900 XTX with two monitors. Both are capable of doing 144Hz. (LG 27GN800-B and SAMSUNG 28” Odyssey G70B.)High Idle VRAM Clock SpeedHigh Idle VRAM Clock Speed

Iam using a Sapphire Nitro XTX  and do NOT have the high idle problem . Iam also using 3  34" Ultrawide screens  in Infinity mode . 

Latest AMD drivers installed .

Not sure if Ive done anything differant from you gents , but dont think so atm . If anything comes to mind I will post it .

*** EDIT 

I did think of one possible thing  Ive DONE/CHANGED , and that is I no longer use MSI afterburner while using the AMD software . I found it can conflict in differant areas with both on/used at the same time ! In fact Ive completly uninstalled MSI Afterburner .  Something to think about or check .... good luck ..

AMD CAPTURE 1.PNG

0 Likes