cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Graphics Cards

slavicpsycho
Adept II

(7900 XTX) High idle power and high VRAM speed on idle

In the picture below you can see on a single 1440p 32" monitor, it uses 100 watts and occasionally jumps to 107 watts on idle. I have a lot of experience but I've never seen anything like this. Is there a temporary workaround? I've tried everything you can find on youtube, reddit, or just talking to people firsthand and I have not been able to fix it. Stuck on 2487 MHz for vram also on idle. No gpu tasks or any third party applications open in the background either. Just windows wallpaper and some desktop icons. It's 170hz but I turned it down to 60hz, literally made 0% difference.

I also tried it on a 7900 XT and it still was at 100 watts. When I unplug the monitor it drops drastically.

Monitor model: VG32AQL1A

EDIT: Also having the same problem on another monitor, Alienware AW2723DF.

Screenshot 2023-08-20 173152.png

62 Replies

Do you notice any performance issues when you lower the power limit in after burner? I am going to have to try this! I haven’t seen this recommendation before 

0 Likes

ya that doesn't work either.

Like others are echoing, if I have to jump through all those hoops in order to use a $1000 graphics card, the solution is going to be "buy a different brand next time". This needs to be dealt with in a plug and play way.

phxrider
Adept I

I have a Powercolor 7900 xtx Hellhound hooked up to a TCL 4K TV. When I set refresh to 144Hz it uses a lot of power at idle - always over 50w, usually 75-90w.... But setting it at 120Hz drops idle power down to sometimes below 20w.

While this is an acceptable fix for me as I tend to like games that have very complex graphics and can't run over 120Hz anyway, it's not going to be for everyone.