cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

General Discussions

msnimbus
Adept II

What would you choose: XFS RX 5500 XT THICC II Pro or ASRock RX570 Phantom?

This might be a stupid question but I need to get a new GPU because my RX570 is presumed dead. I'm not very technical so I'm asking for opinions and yes, I am on a budget. I am looking at 4G cards.

I'm leaning heavily towards the RX 5500 but:

it's 25% more expensive (on special)

it is 128bit vs 256bit for RX570

slower memory speed (? that's what the 5 vs the 7 in the names means right?)

It has a  2 year instead of 3 year warranty (this is probably not that important, but it's reassuring to have an extra year)

Apart from that it seems the better card, it's newer all round, uses less power and performs a bit better.

Do you think it's worth the 25% price difference? Is there any reason anyone would go with the RX570 instead?

Thanks!

ps. I also looked at the Asus GeForce GTX 1650 Super Phoenix 4GB that's about the same price as the RX5500 but it seems to perform slightly less well and I assume everyone here is AMD fans and wouldn't recommend it anyway, lol

0 Likes
1 Solution

They're not being released to stores for at least two more weeks, but they are being announced, so we will know if AMD intends to start a price war or just to price match nVidia again.

Power wise the 5600XT is a little faster than your 570, so if you didn't have to compromise details with your 570 to get 60fps then I'd go with that, but looking into the future the 5700XT may be what you want to aim for, as it's a no-compromise (in most cases) 1920x1080 60fps+ card.

With that being said nVidia's soon to be on shelves 3070 is quite a bit faster for $500, and AMD has been hyping up RDNA2 like it would be equally as fast as Ampere...Let's see what AMD says in a few hours.

View solution in original post

4 Replies