Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

General Discussions

wimpiewest
Adept I

Please help: Optimizing IPOPT for AMD

Good day,

After 12 year of exclusively owning Intel products I recently converted to team red .

I am currently pursuing my postgraduate studies in which I am using Matlab to solve optimal control problems. Matlab uses a MEX file that was compiled to act as an interface to the popular non-linear solver IPOPT. It seems like the performance of the solver is very dependent on the libraries that were used to compile the MEX file. One needs to use an implementation of BLAS and LAPACK that is tailored for AMD hardware.

I am not a developer or computer scientist by trade, so that is why I am turning to the AMD community for help.

Can anyone help me to install IPOPT using libraries that are optimized for AMD processors?

Refer to the following links for more details:

Kind regards

7 Replies

This link seems to have more information and links for IPOPT than the link you posted: Ipopt: Documentation 

From the link above:

How to use Ipopt

If desired, the Ipopt distribution generates an executable for the modeling environment AMPL. As well, you can link your problem statement with Ipopt using interfaces for C++, C, Java, or Fortran. Ipopt can be used with most Linux/Unix environments, and on Windows using Msys2/MinGW. In Interfacing your NLP to Ipopt this document demonstrates how to solve problems using Ipopt. This includes installation and compilation of Ipopt for use with AMPL as well as linking with your own code.

Additionally, the Ipopt distribution includes an interface for the R project for statistical computing, see The R Interface ipoptr.

There is also software that facilitates use of Ipopt maintained by other people, among them are:

• ADOL-C (automatic differentiation)