cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

General Discussions

Shiellsyboy
Adept I

Keep getting a media driver is missing

I’m new to this have just built my first pc but have only come across one issue and that’s when I try to download windows from my flash drive it just comes up with a media driver your computer needs is missing anyone know what I should do I’m really struggling I’ve been trying everything i can see online but nothing seems to work for me 

8 Replies
Justifier
Challenger

You need to go into your Bios, press F8 (or w.e your specific bios options directs you to do to get to the media device options), change boot order to your USB first.

You should also be able to select it by spamming F8 when you first power on your computer to change it for that one boot

14900k • Z790 Apex Encore • 4090 • 2x24Gb-8000 • 1200 Corsair Shift • 420mm Arctic II Push-Pull • Noctua • Fractal Torrent • Guilded.gg/justifiers
0 Likes

Just done that there but when I get to the windows setup it still comes up with media drivers missing

0 Likes
Justifier
Challenger

did you ever initialize the drive you're trying to install windows on in Computer Management?

Justifier_0-1660016337763.png

14900k • Z790 Apex Encore • 4090 • 2x24Gb-8000 • 1200 Corsair Shift • 420mm Arctic II Push-Pull • Noctua • Fractal Torrent • Guilded.gg/justifiers
0 Likes

no I haven’t done that do I have to put the flash drive into my laptop to access that or can I access that from my new pc (without windows)

0 Likes

hello. i got the same issue. let me enlighten:

laptop lenovo ideapad 3 15alc6, amd processor with graphics, mobile 5500u, samsung nvme ssd

triple boot, manjaro, zorin, windows 10 1809

i have already deleted oem partition a long time ago and it's fine

then i deleted zorin partition

(i can't remember when i deleted it, something i did that caused windows to not boot(cannot be repaired, restored)

on manjaro: