cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Gaming Discussions

cpurpe91
Volunteer Moderator

What is your Go To MMO right now? What keeps you playing?

I have been playing MMORPGs since 2009, and I have to say there are some good options out there now.

When I first started playing MMOs, I didn't know what microtransactions were. I didn't know the term "tab target". I didn't have a clue what "action combat" was. What mattered was the quality and feel of the game mixed with the aesthetic, and the community.

There were not a lot of MMOs that I didn't try. I probably tried dozens. Many were really great. Most felt a little jank, but there was a kind of feeling to them. I felt like I was interacting with a world that felt really important.

Most of the games I tried lack that feeling of meaningfulness, in present condition. Things that were core to the experience have been stripped away and replaced with more ways to spend money to remedy problems that were created by the people who made the game, or are in charge of the game's condition.

Examples can be seen all over in current MMOs. The prevalence is seen in many games that are popular, and played by millions. In almost every MMO that I have played since the late to mid 2010s, there is a notification. Whether it is an icon with an exclamation point or an intrusive window that loads up every time you log in, this is common place.

Where there were no pop ups or advertisements other than for the most recent expansions, there are now tip windows to convince you to buy convenience items or services. It is just something I have to accept as normal in the current MMO landscape, they say. The developers need the extra money to continue expanding the game. I get it.