cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Discussions

BigAl01
Volunteer Moderator

Who is planning a December Holiday Build?

You know me.  I build lots of computers for no apparent reason.  Actually, there is a reason, but this is deeply personal to me.  So hear me out.  

During my career as an electrical engineer, I reviewed lots of things.  I was a reliability engineer, a component engineer, a system safety engineer, a project engineer, and even a senior systems engineer.  I worked on things I cannot talk about, but we are talking satellite systems in general.  I've been in the payload bay of a space shuttle while it was on the launch pad back in the 1980's, which means that I've had the excitement of participating in launch operations.  I've been involved with spacecraft for many years.  Yet - I never designed anything significant during my career.  Sure, I reviewed designs, looking for single-point failures or a lack of safety inhibits and such.  But I wasn't a design engineer or subsystem engineer.  So that part of me wasn't developed to it's fullest potential as a working man.  That's why I get creative with my computer builds in retirement.  I have modded many computers and built computer cases from scratch.  My website documents my builds and LAN parties.  I have way too many computers on my LAN, and yet I keep building them.  I built 3 this year.  So I am not planning on the usual December holiday build.