Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Radeon ProRender Discussion

metinseven
Adept II

Feature request: tri-planar or blended box mapping

Hi,

I'd love to see tri-planar or blended box texture mapping added to RPR. It's a very convenient, fast, hassle-free alternative to UV unwrapping, by projecting a texture from three axes (tri-planar) or by box mapping (six sides), with the added option of blending the seams.

Cycles offers blended box mapping in its image texture node, and Keyshot offers tri-planar mapping.

My second big wish for RPR is vertex color support. Until that is implemented, scenes exported from ZBrush can't be rendered without going through tedious Polypaint to texture conversion steps. And vertex maps are also very useful as texture masks, among other things.

Many thanks,

Metin

0 Likes
1 Solution

I'm completely new to ProRender, but in 2.1.1 it works as I would expect (as you can see there are no UVs on Suzanne):

Screenshot from 2019-12-05 16-35-49.png

Or did I miss anything?

View solution in original post

0 Likes
7 Replies
bsavery
Staff

The first one will be in shortly.  We're also talking about the second.

That's great, thanks a lot!

0 Likes

These are features that are still missing as of 2.0.112 

0 Likes
Anonymous
Not applicable

That's strange. The "RPR Procedural UV" node is already there for some time - in the "Input" section of shader nodes menu.

Right now:
- the Triplanar projection type is object-bound(projection center is bound to the object's center). X-Y scale, X-Y-Z rotation, X-Y-Z location
- the Camera is camera-bound, using the main scene camera by default. Scale is taken from camera settings at the moment.
- the Plane type is world-bound. Accepts X-Y scale, X-Y-Z rotations, X-Y-Z location.
- the Sphere and Cylinder types are world-bound. There are issues with mapping rotation and scale settings for these types, we are looking into it.