cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Processors

Dudealicious
Journeyman III

Upgrade 5900X to latest greatest...

Hello all.  I'm a video editor by trade and was forced to purchase my own rig thanks to the pandemic.  For my entire career I've always used whatever the production provided for me and now since everything is work from home I'm using my own gear which has been great.

Back in late 2020 sourcing video cards was a challenge.  You just couldn't get them anywhere so I went the route of buying a prebuilt system.  I imagine this system was originally designed for gaming but I use it to cut a whole bunch of TV shows and it works great.  But, lately I discovered from other editors that my 1-hour exports take twice as long as those using the Mac M1 or M2 processors.

I purchased a prebuilt from Digital Storm.  The Aventum X.  It's a very big unit but I need the drive space.  I didn't go fully liquid because I didn't want to deal with all the maintenance.  The processor I believe is attached to a sealed liquid system.  There are, however, 11 fans all around this thing.  And no shortage of neon lights.

Specs:  AMD Ryzen 9 5900X 12-Core Processor 3.70 GHz

NVIDIA 3080 10GB

My question is would upgrading the processor be a simple plug-and-play install?

I was thinking of replacing with a 7950x or 7950x3d

Can you think of any benefit one might have over the other for video editing?

Will there be any potential problems?

Thanks in advance for any insight you may have.

5 Replies
eebiii
Forerunner

You would have to replace the motherboard and memory also. You would be going from AM4 to AM5 chipset. There would be huge benefits to making this jump to AM5. Just might cost a little more than you were planning.

I appreciate the info.