cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Processors

Ryzen 5 5600x RAM Unable to run RAM at 3600 as advertised.

Hello all,

I am running a Ryzen 5 5600x with an MSI MPG X570 gaming edge wifi motherboard and a single kit of DDR4 G. Skills Trident Z 3600 Mhz 32GB (2 x 16GB) RAM. I am unable to reach 3600 Mhz as the RAM is advertised for. For that matter, I am maxed out at 3000 Mhz. I have checked RAM placement, updated BIOS of motherboard, used the Memory Try It and XMP profiles, and messed with the RAM voltages as I discovered online. Anything over just changing the RAM to 3000 Mhz leads to zero post and a red CPU indicator light on my motherboard. Also, I want to up front mention that I have a 750 W PSU with my system of the above components plus a an ASUS TUF RX 6700 XT, so I don't believe power should be the issue.

Any suggestions on what I may be missing. I am relatively new in PC building but have been obsessively searching for a solution. I searched online, read issue reviews, spoke to different tech personnel at my local Micro Center and really done anything I can to try to remedy this. I know that the 5600x is only rated for 3200 Mhz but have found that it is possible to go higher. But even I would be good with getting to 3200 Mhz. Yes, I know that bit of difference probably doesn't matter a ton but it is just driving me crazy.

Thank you in advance for any help you can provide. Partially just wanted to rant so even if no solution comes I appreciate the forum to vent.

Ryzen 5 5600x| Asus RX 6700 XT Tuf OC | MSI MEG X570 Unify-X Max| G. Skill Trident Z RGB 32GB 2x16 | Crucial P5 Plus 1 TB
Scottidoesnkno... or does he.
0 Likes
8 Replies
EsojX
Adept I

Hello,

Have you tried to manually input the memory timings in the BIOS? Match the four timings found on Trident Z's sticker.

Currently Traveling. Next time I am home I will give that a try.

Thank you,