cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Processors

Brillan
Adept I

My PC crashes

Error messages from June 2022Error messages from June 2022Error messages from August 2022Error messages from August 2022

Greetings! I hope you can all forgive my inexperience, for I am not very good with computers, but hope to one day learn. Long story short, my PC will crash in the following manner:

1. Audio starts to repeat
  2. Screen goes black
  3. Computer reboots itself

I believe this to be a hardware issue, as this has happened across different games (and sometimes even when no games are running), end even across operating systems (I dual‐boot). Here are my PC specifications:

GPU: AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT

CPU: 16 × AMD Ryzen 7 3700X 8‐Core Processor

Motherboard: ASUS Prime B450‐Plus

RAM: Corsair Vengeance LPX Black 32GB (2x16GB)

PSU: Fractal Design Ion+ / 760W / 80+ Platinum

Operating systems: Windows 10 Pro / Ubuntu Studio 23.04

Should this be of any help, I have also made a post on Reddit containing more details. Again, I apologize for my ignorance.

8 Replies
Brillan
Adept I

Bump.

johnnyenglish
Grandmaster

Hi, have you tried running it without XMP?

Go to your bios and make your ram sticks run at default speed. 

If you have any doubt. Clear CMOS with the jumper and reset to defaults. 

The Englishman

Thank you very much for helping out! I will try to address your suggestions in order, but please forgive my ineptitude with computers:

1. As for XMP, ASUS uses something called DOCP according to Wikipedia. In my UEFI settings, it was already disabled.
  2. I am regrettably not too sure how to set RAM speed. The attached images contain the only information I could find in the UEFI, and I am unsure if this counts as the default speed, or if I have even found the correct panel to begin with.

1.jpg2.jpg

johnnyenglish
Grandmaster