cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Processors

BlackCastle
Adept II

AMD CPU Stuck with Wraith Prism Cooler

I bought an AMD Ryzen 7 3700X in 2020.  A few months ago, I bought a Ryzen 7 5700X. I didn't try to replace my old CPU immediately because I had seen a lot of cases where people had their CPU come off with the cooler. So, naturally, I had to remove the previous CPU.

Since buying 3700X in 2020, I haven't changed the thermal paste for 3 years. It had the default paste that comes with the Wraith Prism Cooler. So, when I tried to remove the CPU a few weeks ago, it came off attached to the cooler. I had run 6 hours of stress test before trying to remove the cooler so that the paste would melt a little and be a bit easy to remove, but it didn't work. 

I reside in the Asia region. Since, I am not an expert, I went to the official distributor of my region and asked them to detach the cooler from the CPU. Note: They used to be the official distributor of AMD CPU when I bought my 1st Ryzen CPU which was Ryzen 7 3700X. Currently, they are no longer the official distributor. All CPUs of AMD are imported via third party channel.

After a week or two, they called me and told me that the cooler wasn't coming off from the CPU. If it were attached to the paste only, then applying some force would make it come off, but they suspect that the CPU body has been fused with the heat pipes or of the cooler or melted a little and got stuck really hard because of high heat. If they try to apply more force, it might damage the top body of the CPU, and there is a risk of rendering the CPU dead or not working properly after the procedure. They asked me for my permission to try. I told them I would let them know.