cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

PC Building

Wally_AMD
Community Manager

When did you build your first PC?

I've been around here for a little over a year now and have gotten to know this community pretty well for the most part - especially our regulars. Getting to learn a bit about your PC-related hobbies (gaming, building, modding, etc.) has been a real treat, and I was wondering... when did you build your very first PC?

Although I've always loved gaming, I didn't get into PC gaming until I was in my early teens, and I didn't build my first PC until I was around 19.

Even the rig I'm running is pre-built (SHAME ON ME), but I'm looking to build an AM5 rig by the end of the year if I'm lucky!

pcbuild.jpg

64 Replies
robinyutah
Adept I

@eebiii Yes, you are right. I have been into the study for several years. When i realized that i have to make my career, then I started learning the skill and now providing services about as an Austin roofer. But yeah once I build my career, I'll dive into this ocean as well

@eebiii  I have just found the first client for Austin roofing services. Now i'll take a look for the building of PC for my own gaming setup.

What does your Gaming PC Budget look like?  I know it's truly none of my business, but knowing what you're willing to spend is greatly helpful when giving advice on this topic.  FWIW.

Ryzen 9 5950X|Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon 6950XT|128GB Corsair Vengeance Pro RGB DDR4-3600 (4x32)|ASUS Crosshair Dark Hero VIII|Corsair iCUE 5000X RGB|Corsair iCUE H150i AIO|Samsung G55A 32" Monitor|Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
eebiii
Forerunner

Great!! Do you have any ideas what you are looking for to start? Case, MB, CPU, etc...?

masterbasher
Adept I

1998 Prior to that it was pre-built or bought for me. Very first was a Commodore Vic-20 for Christmas one year. Got the bug and have been in IT most of my life. Well, until I got outsourced . . .

jaandoh
Challenger

Built my first pc some time in 2000s I think..