cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Part Recommendations

Help checking my build

Hey Folks, 

I'm new to the world of PC building, just wondering if the following is a rig good enough to play modern games like TheFinals and Cyberpunk (medium settings). 

Radeon RX 6600

Asus Prime B650 (AM5)

Ryzen5 7600 (AM5)

500W PSU

16GB RAM

I've always been donated bits of friends old PCs for cheap so it's a massive leap to build my own moneywise

1 Solution
ThreeDee
Paragon

what make/model power supply? 

That's the one component you want to spend extra on and get a quality unit

You can check out:

https://cultists.network/140/psu-tier-list/

..and multiple hardware review sites before purchasing anything

ThreeDee PC specs

View solution in original post

9 Replies
johnnyenglish
Grandmaster

If you are aiming at cyberpunk and you dont have budget for more than a RX6600, then its time to compromise.

AM4 boards are more affordable, get a 5700X3D, 16gb 3600 DDR4 and what you save will allow a better GPU, maybe near a 6750xt or more. 

This should get you more BANG although AM4 is EOL. 

The Englishman

I 2nd this opinion.

I'm very excited.
ThreeDee
Paragon

what make/model power supply? 

That's the one component you want to spend extra on and get a quality unit

You can check out:

https://cultists.network/140/psu-tier-list/

..and multiple hardware review sites before purchasing anything

ThreeDee PC specs

oops, I missed the reply button and hit 'solution' 

Anyway, was going to ask, if you have a trusted brand like 'be quiet' or 'corsair' and the PSU is rated 80+ can you just get anything that's got a high enough power supply?

And then, how do you know what power draw to expect to need?

With your setup .. I'd go with a 650wtt 80+ Gold at least .. I'll tend to go overkill on PSU's for the setups in my households just so there is room to grow 

Stay away from "White" or 80 Plus rated PSU's .. generally garbage