cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

OpenGL & Vulkan

Optica
Adept I

Radeon RX 6600 OpenGL Issues?

I recently got an XFX Speedster SWFT 210 Radeon RXC 6600 8GB for my new PC. After installing all updates and drivers through Windows and AMD Adrenalin, I disable the Intel iGPU and try some software, but I'm told at multiple gates that I do not have the appropriate OpenGL drivers:

unavailable.pngno-support.png

Checking Adrenalin, I can see that I have "OpenGL® Driver Version 29.20.11000.14800" but "OpenGL® API Version Not Available". I'm also getting some general performance issues with Desktop Windows Manager taking all kinds of items in the task manages (After searching, is usually diagnosed to driver issues). I'm admittedly quite a newbie here, am I missing some crucial steps here or did I get the wrong graphics card?

0 Likes
1 Solution

HaHA alright well that did it, plugging into the graphics card directly allowed me to boot up BIOS and "Auto" was already set. Once I restarted again, GPU-Z showed 4.6 and things are working pretty well, it seems. One interesting thing is that the Intel iGPU no longer shows up on the Device Manager:

wheres_igpu.png

Which is fine for me, since I don't exactly plan on using it. Thanks so much for the help! Glad it ended up being something as simple as me not knowing how to hook up a monitor properly. I'm curious though, what is the difference between connecting via the motherboard and the GPU directly? Does the GPU connection kick something into gear or is it more involved than that?

View solution in original post

14 Replies

Try enabling your Intel Integrated Graphics again and see if now OpenGL is supported.

By the way, no need to disable your Intel IGPU since the moment you install the Discrete GPU card, BIOS will automatically make the GPU card the Main Display adapter and not the Intel IGPU.

Unless BIOS ISN"T set on "Auto" but IGPU then it won't automatically change to the GPU card.