cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Graphics Cards

kk10494
Adept I

Two Motherboards stopped working what could be the cause?

Hello, I'm becoming a bit concerned here as I troubleshoot some issues with my system.

I have an Asus B550-F motherboard, R5 3600, and a 5700XT. Have never had issues until just last week. I started playing Days Gone and it started crashing. So I figured I'd update my GPU drivers. Did that and restarted and my computer started boot looping at the mobo splash. 1 out of 10 times it would make it to windows restore but none of the options ever worked.

Only thing that let me back into windows was a restore point. Did a fresh install of windows, and had the same issue.

Figured it's either the PSU or mobo so bought a new PSU, issue persists. Bought a new mobo, issue is now gone. Go to play Days Gone again today, launch game, it crashes, windows totally frozen. Turn off computer, and get the same issue as before, boot looping and occasionally getting to windows restore but nothing there works but a restore point.

I'm fairly concerned I've fried 2 motherboards in the span of a week, any advice? Or how to troubleshoot further?

8 Replies
BigAl01
Volunteer Moderator

I doubt you've fried 2 motherboards or even one motherboard, but of course something is unhappy.  Did you do a BIOS update to your motherboard that you forgot to mention?  Assuming not, another suspect is a bad memory stick but having just one game trigger the event makes it seem more like a software issue.