Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

PC Graphics

MicHaeL_MonStaR
Journeyman III

RX 6950 XT High Temperatures & Artefacting + Power Usage & Performance

Hello All

I'm turning to these message-boards because I've already contacted AMD-support and the response made it clear that they didn't bother to read my detailed message and concerns as evident by their contrarian questions and instructions. - So I'll post my concerns and questions here instead. It's going to be rather long and detailed, but that's to prevent most of the standard follow-up responses and questions that usually come when posting a single out-of-context statement. I'll explain the key points of the scenario instead:

So I've been using a stock/reference AMD Radeon RX 6950 XT for a couple of months now. - I have been using it in stock configuration. That is, no tweaking or overclocking with any software, not even Radeon Settings, because I'm using it on Linux (Pop!_OS) with the drivers that it uses automatically.

It has been working fairly well, although I've been questioning some of the performance, but I wasn't sure if that was just an effect of expectations. - However, in the last few weeks I've been using it to run 'Starfield', and as you've probably heard (or experienced), it's rather demanding. - But what it also did is break some new temperature-records on both this card and the CPU I run with it (the Ryzen 5 5600, also stock, with a good 120mm AIO).

Usually, the GPU would struggle to reach 110 degrees Celsius with the more demanding games, and the CPU would barely break 75 degrees even under full load. - But now, I've had the GPU reach 112 degrees, and the CPU as much as 86 degrees. (I'll include a screenshot, and you can find the GPU-temperatures under "amdgpu" of course, but the CPU is under "k10temp" between the "nvme" data.)

Screenshot from 2023-09-14 18-47-15.png