cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Graphics Cards

loldemonnn
Journeyman III

Major lag waves

Hello! For the entire time I've had my PC, I've encountered a lot of lag related issues, even though the PC Is really good. 
Main problem is these waves of major lag, basically when I play a game then sometimes I get this around 3-5fps lag for about 10-20 seconds. It almost feels like the FPS Just caps itself to 5 for 10-20 seconds. This happens in a lot of games, and I've gotten used to it but recently when I started playing this new game called Shadows of Doubt, the lag has been a lot worse. (Forgot to mention that in other games I mostly get this lag when I tab out and tab back in) But in this game the lag just randomly comes. I could just be idle in the game and not moving my keyboard or mouse whatsoever and I start lagging. I'd like to fix this issue once and for all because its slowly getting more and more annoying, I've tried googling about it and everywhere it said to update my drivers, reinstall my drivers, I've done all of that several times and my drivers are on the most recent update yet I still get the problem.  The reason I'm asking this in amd forums and not in the Shadows of Doubt forums is because this issue happens in every game, I can't remember a game that ran smoothly without these waves of lag. I've tried researching this so much and I still don't have an answer. Please somebody help me with this annoying issue so I can finally enjoy videogames again without lagging. 

1tb external SSD, 455gb local disk 

16GB Ram
rx 6650 xt
amd ryzen 5 5500

0 Likes
7 Replies
Alptechexpert
Adept II

To counter the issue you're facing, it is recommended disabling the overlay to see if it resolves the lag issue.
Here's how you can disable the AMD Radeon software overlay:
Open the AMD Radeon software.
Click on the "Performance" tab.
Click on the "Overlays" tab.
Uncheck the box for "Show Overlays" to disable the AMD Radeon software overlay.