cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

General Discussions

cpurpe91
Volunteer Moderator

Upgrade advice for my AM4 builds

I have been building with AMD since 2014 and I love the competition that it brings to the table now. Currently I have two systems on the AM4 platform, one sports the Ryzen 5 2600X with 16Gb of DDR4 3000mhz RAM, the other with a Ryzen 7 3700X and 32GB of DDR4 3200mhz RAM. I don't need to upgrade really but I still think about it on a regular basis. Zen 3 has proven to be amazing, and with the introduction of 3D v cache I am really tempted to pull the trigger in the next few months on a Ryzen 7 5800X3D.

On the other hand, I do know AM5 and Zen 4 are coming very soon. From what I understand it will require DDR5 which is very expensive relative to DDR4. Will there be AM5 motherboards that use DDR4 similar to the way Intel is handling the transition? From what I have seen, games that are out now rarely see a performance increase beyond margin of error when switching to the DDR5 platform from DDR4 versions of LGA1700.

The point of this thread is to start a conversation on what you expect to see whether games will take advantage of the faster speeds of DDR5 or if games will keep using DDR4 as the standard when they are optimizing performance. 

I would like to see AM5 socket DDR4 boards available for those of us who can't drop a couple hundred dollars on DDR5 modules. With that I would like to see how much of a performance gain can be had with DDR5 over DDR4 on the AM5 platform. 

What do you think? Thoughts on DDR5 pricing? How much should these increased frequencies improve performance in productivity applications as well as games? 

Ryzen 7 7700X, MSI MAG X670E Tomahawk Wifi, Corsair DOMINATOR® TITANIUM RGB 2x16GB DDR5 DRAM 6000MT/s CL30, AMD Radeon RX 7900 XT, Corsair HX Series™ HX1000, Corsair MP600 PRO NH 4TB
5 Replies
johnnyenglish
Grandmaster