cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

General Discussions

Rubbler
Journeyman III

New AMD build constantly crashing

Hi everyone - I've just recently built my first new PC in almost a decade. I've got a lot of past experience building but am currently stumped on this one.

I picked up a Ryzen 9 7900X3D, Asus Prime B650-Plus MB, 32GB (2x16GB) Team Force 6400MHz RAM, a Thermalright AIO liquid cooler and am currently using a 6650 XT GPU until a new 7900 GRE is delivered. Also have a Corsair 850e PSU.

Build went smooth, all parts recognized in BIOS, no worries.  When I installed Windows 11 I began to have random crashing, through the install process, once it was installed, etc.  The PC would crash between 10s-60s after bootup, consistently.  When this happened there was nothing in the logs, Event viewer captured nothing other than an error after bootup saying the PC had restarted from an unexpected shutdown, but I could not figure out what was going on.  Eventually I got to the point that having only 1 stick of ram in the system would keep it stable, I never had any crashes doing this.  Now, I tried both sticks, in slots 2/4 on the MB and they both worked perfectly fine on their own, in either slot.  As soon as I'd add the 2nd stick the system would go through the cycle of crashing.