cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

General Discussions

PrototypeBagel
Journeyman III

Documentation And a Plea for Help With Fatal DirectX Crashing on Final Fantasy XIV

Hi all, I didn't know really what category this issue falls under since I've failed to find a fix so I just figured general support discussion is fine.

I'm making this post because I'm nearing my wits end with trying to troubleshoot this error. I have had a Fatal DirectX hang error pertaining to Final Fantasy XIV ever since I started playing (nearing 3 years ago). Essentially (if you've never seen one of the many complaints about this issue), after any amount of gameplay (I've had it happen in as quick as 20 minutes, and as long as about 20 to 30 in game hours over the course of two to three weeks irl) the game will hang and a message like this will occur before the game promptly closes:

PrototypeBagel_2-1682792754587.png

However, there are a few variations (that seem to be rarer). One which I have not had in quite a while causes the entire graphics driver to crash (amd software is saying so at least) which yields some screen color resetting and I need to restart the pc to return it to normal. The other, which I just had happen today (and which caused me to finally write this post) is where the entire screen (both of my screens actually) and the whole pc to lock up. No mouse inputs do anything, etc. However, sound still plays. I do not have this issue with any other games, even newer and more graphically intensive ones (Doom Eternal, God of War, etc) even on max or near max settings for those games.

I run a pretty basic setup that I built in late 2019 with 2 monitors (main is a Dell S2719DGF 2560x1440 at 144Hz, side is an Asus PB278 in portrait 1440x2560 at 60Hz, both connected via display port) and my hardware is as follows:
- Gigabyte AMD RX 5700 XT (8gb vram) (NOT overclocked)
- Gigabyte Aorus Pro Wifi X570