cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Drivers & Software

CTS
Journeyman III

VERIFIED AMD x670 RAID1 UNREPORTED Driver Problem

First of all, know that I am an industry multi-certified professional technician with 22 years' experience as of this past January, I have virtually designed and built hundreds of custom systems since 2002, so you can bet I know what I'm doing.

There is a serious problem with the AMD RAID1 driver for the x670 chipset which renders it inoperable, and based on all my research online, as far as I know, I'm the only one who has discovered it. I also just called and left a voicemail 45 minutes ago with someone at AMD about this issue, but have not been called back.

The problem is that after loading the pre-installation driver under Windows 10 or 11, the drives still come up as separate under RAID1 when they should not, and the two 4TB M.2 Gen5 drives I'm using each keep getting *automatically* partitioned to 2048GB and 1678GB. This problem has been verified on two separate x670 motherboards, the AMD driver is the same as the manufacturer's driver, and during my testing I tried them both just for verification purposes. After many hours of testing and trying virtually every possible way to resolve this problem, I have determined that there is no way around this issue until AMD rectifies it. But of course, they can't do that unless they know about it, thus this post.

See photo below. As you can see, despite installing the driver both drives are being displayed, and not only that, they have been automatically partitioned as previously stated. None of these things should be happening, yet they are, as you can see below...

x670 RAID1 Driver Problemx670 RAID1 Driver Problem 

0 Likes
4 Replies
FunkZ
Paragon

Sometimes it pays to RTFM. (read the free manual)