Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Drivers & Software

necros2k7
Journeyman III

Chipset drivers purpose

Have such devices in Device manager:

AMD GPIO driver (2 versions), SMBUS, AMD Virtualized AHCI Controller for StoreMI DEV_7901

As I understand SMBUS gives OS access to read temp chips etc.?

What exactly will I miss if I disable such devices in device manager? What purpose of each above mentioned driver is? Will be glad to hear qualified engineer answer.

P.S. Will my Win11 boot if I disable PSP device in manager?

0 Likes
2 Replies
Flyfisherman
Challenger

Hi,
I'm not a qualified engineer as You requested but I am an engineer from Sweden and I don't know if my answer will satisfy you.

Good question but the answer might not be.
Perhaps others can explain it better.
The purpose of the chipset is not an easy question to answer, since its a complex question.

Basically the electronics on the motherboard that communicate with all the connected components.
Most importantly, the chipset determines compatibility between all of these other components. If any of the processors or memory cards don’t communicate with the chipset, they can’t send or receive information from the motherboard.

The cpiset driver is a small software that is necessary for control and steering between the the different hardware connected to the computer and the operating system (i.e Windows):

For ex. If one want to play a DVD media from the DVD player, one open a program, start this and then the instruction from that program goes via operative system (Windows) and then recognized via its driver hardware ID, the chipset driver is the middleman sort of speak - it tells from and where to go and how to do it.

Now, this is not enough, for the example of the DVD-player above (or any hardware) it needs its own driver to operate and it will be provided by its manufacturer. That driver is the one that has ultimate control over the device.