Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Drivers & Software

Innovated
Journeyman III

AMD chipset & AMD processor

Hey everyone,

I'm new to this whole pc building thing and I had a question. Do I need to download and install both the chipset and AMD processor drivers?

Thanks in advance! 

0 Likes
5 Replies
BigBeard
Adept I

Which motherboard, cpu and gpu do you have?

In general, though, I do it like this:

1. On first startup of Windows, I install all the motherboard drivers from the manufacturer's webpage, including chipset, IO, networking etc. Then I reboot.
  2. On second startup, I install the driver of the screen only, e.g. Acer Nitro. Then I reboot.
  3. On the third startup, I install the graphics driver, e.g. Adrenalin.

It helps to disable internet during this to prevent Windows Update from interfering.

BigBeard
Adept I

I should add that I download the drivers onto a USB stick in advance so I don't have to use the internet to get them when I'm installing them.

0 Likes
MrMafoo
Adept II

I do it a little differently:

1. On the first startup, do a Windows update, and keep doing it until there are no more to do

2. Install video drivers directly from AMD or Nvidia. If you have an AMD video card, all the chipset drivers are part of the installation.

3. If everything works, you're done (and if you're on new hardware, 99% of the time it all just works). If you want features you might not have from the Microsoft drivers, like some sound chips and network chips gain more features from Motherboard drivers, then do what BigBeard said, and go get the drivers from the website for that 1 thing.