11 Replies Latest reply on May 6, 2015 4:14 AM by pinform

How to enable openCL to render on Vray RT ?

shady19406

Hello, i just finished installing my FirePro w8100 in my system and i have the Firepro v5900 installed as well.I have installed the 14.502.1019.0 driver. I want to utilize both cards stream processors for GPU rendering and to be more specific in the VRAY RT engine. I have windows 7 professtional as my OS. I have no knowledge in C++ programing or any other programing language. I have been reading that I need to install the AMD APP SDK v3.0 Beta for the open CL 2.0 (Accelerated Parallel Processing) to work with the Vray RT engine. my questions:

1- do I need to change my OS to windows 8.1?

2- do I need to uninstall my current driver before I install the APP SDK 3.0 beta in order to work?

3- After installing the APP SDK 3.0 beta will the openCL work on the Vray RT GPU rendering right away or do I need further programming steps to do?

Like I said am not a programmer and the info provided on AMD's website is confusing to me. Thank you

• Re: How to enable openCL to render on Vray RT ?
          nou

You should be able to use OpenCL application just after driver instalation. You need APP SDK to develop OpenCL applications or to use CPU as OpenCL device when there is no Catalyst driver.

1 of 1 people found this helpful
              shady19406

Thank you very much for your help but if you can answer my concerns, I would be grateful to you

1- do I need to change my OS to windows 8.1?

2- do I need to uninstall my current driver before I install the APP SDK 3.0 beta in order to work?

3- After installing the APP SDK 3.0 beta will the openCL work on the Vray RT GPU rendering right away or do I need further programming steps to do?

nou

1. no

2. no

3. install driver first then try run Vray. It should work without SDK

1 of 1 people found this helpful
                      shady19406

Thanks so much, i appreciate your time to answer my questions.