cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Processors

johne53
Journeyman III

Ryzen ThreadRipper and timers

I'm a C++ programmer working on various projects which run under Windows but which require accurate timing.

Traditionally these have tended to run better on Intel CPU's (because for a multi-core device, Intel CPU's tend to use a single high-precision timer which gets shared by all the cores). AMD CPU's on the other hand have traditionally used different timers for each core (and AFAIK they're not synchronised). Therefore when the OS switches a task onto a different core, the timing can go utterly haywire (which defeats the object of it being "high precision")..

Is that still the case with the latest AMD processors (e.g. ThreadRipper)? Or do the different cores finally share a common, high-precision timer?

0 Likes
3 Replies
misterj
Big Boss

johne53, I cannot help you and it may be difficult to find another User here who can.  I suggest you open an AMD Online Support Ticket and ask them.  Enjoy, John.

0 Likes

Found this from Microsoft concerning using Windows for "Acquiring High Resolution Time Stamps".  I believe this has to do with using the CPU Core timers even when they are not synchronized.: Acquiring high-resolution time stamps - Windows applications | Microsoft Docs .

Your question I believe needs to be answered by a AMD Engineer. As mentioned by MisterJ, Open an AMD EMAIL SUPPORT online and see what they say from here: Online Service Request | AMD

Here are some questions from link from FAQ that might apply to your question:

Should I use QPC or call the RDTSC /RDTSCP instructions directly?

To avoid incorrectness and portability issues, we strongly encourage you to use QPC instead of using the TSC register or the RDTSC or RDTSCP processor instructions.

Is QPC accuracy affected by processor frequency changes caused by power management or Turbo Boost technology?