Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

PC Processors

heracless123
Journeyman III

New CPU for my PC

Hello AMD Community,

At the moment i want to upgrade my computer with a new CPU.

I use it for gaming. My set how it looks like at the moment:

I have Window 8.1.

Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-78LMT-USB3

CPU: AMD FX(tm)-4300 Quad-Core Processor

GPU: AMD Radeon R9 200 Series

I have 16 GB RAM.

I build this set a time ago, but im not that good at building a pc.

I found out what is compatible with my Mainboard:

GA-78LMT-USB3 (rev. 4.1) | Mainboards - GIGABYTE Germany 

I want to spent max. 200 €.

I looked around and found this: AMD FX-8350 and AMD FX-8370.

Is this good for my setup or do you have a better idea for my CPU.

Thanks in advance for your help.

0 Likes
9 Replies

As far as extending the life of your PC then that's the best option, as upgrading to a modern system much more suited for gaming means replacing the motherboard, CPU, RAM, and OS.

0 Likes

If you can't afford to upgrade to an Ryzen computer setup than I would go for the FX 8350. I have been using the FX 8350 with a high end GPU card and I am able to play all modern games without any problems. I would recommend to purchase a Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO to keep your TDP 125 watt CPU nice and cool under heavy loads. In case you just purchase the CPU without a CPU Cooler.

The FX 8370 is a tad faster than the FX 8350 but costs more.

Here is an example at Amazon.com FX 8370 with a Wraith CPU Cooler:

At Amazon a FX 8350 with a Wraith CPU Cooler:

0 Likes

Far cheaper on Newegg

0 Likes

Actually I did look at Newegg and saw that. But it doesn't include a CPU Cooler. It is more expensive when the Wraith Cooler is included but at least you get a compatible CPU Cooler that is under AMD Warranty for both.