cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

PC Processors

azandra33
Adept I

My system detects Ryzen 5 4600G shipped with Vega 6 iGPU

Just assembled a budget PC using Ryzen 5 4600G. My system detects Radeon RX Vega 6 as its iGPU.
I have little knowledge on hardware, but isn't it supposed to have Vega 7? I've been looking at everything on the box and instruction paper. it seems normal. Though there's no GPU description listed clearly, just "with Radeon(TM) Graphics", the same as the official 4600G page from the AMD website. However, every article on the internet said that 4600G is shipped with Vega 7. Youtube review/testing videos featuring 4600G also stated Vega 7. Mine, however, Vega 6. Is this the consequence of having a vague GPU description? Or is it abnormal that I should ask the shop for replacement?

I also thought this was probably just a naming bug, but from gaming experience, it feels significantly slower than my Ryzen 5 5600G like they don't share the same iGPU. It got below half of 5600G's FPS when playing Monster Hunter World with the same rig, even in lower settings.

image1.png

1 Solution
SerchTech
Adept II

Hi azandra33

First of all, I have never been a user/owner of Ryzen APUs as 4600G and never installed/tested EndeavourOS either, currently on Fedora40 and Windows11 with Threadripper 2950X/X399.

If you have tried different distros with the same result about Vega 6 and EndeavourOS being based rolling release, it is possible that AMD DRM does not correctly report the specifications of your 4600G iGPU.

Everything I have read in your OP is good advice, for my part I would create a bug report so that AMD GPU Professionals on Linux could confirm or correct this error

AMD-DRM.png

It will be a pleasure to read about your discoveries and good luck, you're welcome

View solution in original post

9 Replies
misterj
Big Boss

azandra33, I think you need to talk to AMD here. Thanks and enjoy, John.

0 Likes