cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

PC Building

Waxer2026
Journeyman III

Ryzen 5000 MSI whitelight CPU

I am brand new to building this gaming PC. I followed directions. I have an MSI motherboard that is compatible with the Ryzen 5000 series. When I power it on, the white light is on the motherboard for CPU. I do not have another motherboard or CPU to swap and see what the challenge is. Are there any experienced builders here who may be able to offer some suggestions RN?

0 Likes
7 Replies

Without knowing the Make & Model of your MSI Motherboard nor the exact AMD 5xxx processor you are using nor any type of PC information, I will just make a guess.

Did you check to make sure you have the correct BIOS Version install on your MSI Motherboard that will support your 5xxx processor?

If it is the wrong BIOS Version your MSI Motherboard won't boot up.

Did you check to make sure the RAM Memory you installed is compatible with the 5xxx processor by checking MSI SUPPORT Motherboard QVL List for the 5000 Series processors or the RAM Manufacturer's QVL List for your Motherboard?

0 Likes
Waxer2026
Journeyman III

Thank you SO much for asking. We are unsure how to update BIOS with just the power light on. The monitor is showing no signal message. We don't know chicken or egg here. We did look at MSI site. We did download to thumb drive. The MSI is B550-A Pro the AMD Ryzen 5 5600 G.

0 Likes

Great, Thanks for the update!

Your MSI Motherboard does have the BIOS FLASHBACK Feature where all you need is a USB Flash drive with the correct BIOS Version install and just power to your PC with the motherboard installed and all appropriate power cables connected to update the BIOS. Generally there is a special USB Port you use with the BIOS FLASHBACK feature: https://www.msi.com/Motherboard/B550-A-PRO/Specification

Screenshot 2023-01-13 143510.png