cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Off Topic Discussions

BigAl01
Volunteer Moderator

Next-Gen Batteries in Space? NASA to Test Lithium-Sulfur In Suits, Satellites

This is the kind of stuff that gets me excited.  Why?  Because I worked in the space industry with satellites and things of this nature.  My claim to fame was standing in the payload bay of a space shuttle on the launch pad during payload closeout operations (I was a system safety engineer at the time).  I know how important batteries are for space applications, as they power most satellites when they are not receiving illumination from the sun through their solar cells.  Anyway, here's the article:

The long-lasting, lightweight batteries made by Lyten could extend astronauts' extravehicular activity from 4 to 8 hours, and power the growing number of low earth orbit satellites.

Lyten, a California-based battery tech company, has been chosen by NASA and the Department of Defense (DoD) to send its lithium-sulfur battery technology to the International Space Station (ISS) on a 2025 mission.

The energy dense, lightweight cells could extend the time astronauts can spend on space walks from four to eight hours. They could also keep low orbit satellites in orbit for longer, such as the ones Starlink relies on.

"The rapid growth in low earth orbit satellite deployments...create(s) a very compelling use for high-energy density, lithium-sulfur battery cells," says Celina Mikolajczak, chief battery technology officer at Lyten. "These are applications where weight and reliability are of critical importance."

Higher energy density that is still safe is what we want.Higher energy density that is still safe is what we want.