Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Off Topic Discussions

MADZyren
Paragon

Just one of the reasons I don't use Google Chrome

https://contrachrome.com/ cartoon about Chrome and privacy

Second one being that I find it's user interface worse than that of other browsers like Firefox.

7 Replies
Vynski
Exemplar

I have been using Opera since 2002.  It is set as my default.  

In fact the only reason I have Chrome installed is it is required to use Google Earth. 

Another browser I use a lot is Tor.

Famous last words of a RedNeck "Hey Ya'll, WATCH THIS"
Axxemann
Forerunner

I like Brave. Uses the same basic setup as Chrome, but with all the Google Spying junk removed.

Prior to that, I was a Firefox user.

Performance over Pretty.

I'll have to suggest this Brave to my wife, anything to get rid of Google, that's what she uses most.  I'm not sure if Opera is a derivative of Firefox or if it gets tagged as Firefox because it is also open source. I use the consumer version of Belarc Advisor which is free and it has no problem recognizing Opera.  You might like to download this Belarc Advisor and see how you like it.  It is a COMPLETE analysis of your computer, even down to the software you have installed.  I've used it since 1992 when I was the Principal and Network Admin of a school district where I had the full business version.  I would recommend it to everyone on the forum, it's free for consumer use.

Famous last words of a RedNeck "Hey Ya'll, WATCH THIS"
0 Likes
chadplusminus
Adept II

I use Firefox as my main browser. People mentioned Opera, but it was acquired by some shady Chinese company a few years ago and they have even worse privacy protection than Chrome. 

0 Likes
johnnyenglish
Grandmaster

I have to use a wide variety. Opera is now Chinese owned although they claim the development happens in Norway, dont run anything sensitive there just in case. We can't use it at work, its completely blocked.