cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Off Topic Discussions

Sam_AMD
Community Manager

F-16CJ Build – What I do when I Don’t Play Video Games

I just finished playing Dead Space (Remake) and it was a blast. Loved it! Solid 9.5 out of 10! And have been “coaching” our Chief Inspiration Officer @Wally_AMD  on how to get around the USG Ishimura.

When I don’t play video games I dive into my other hobby; building scale model kits, specifically airplanes from the cold war era.

I just finished building the Tamiya F-16CJ Fighting Falcon Block 50. It was my first 1/32 scale built, and man, I loved it. There is a reason why the kit has a 5-star rating – everything about the kit is awesome, especially the removable engine, and the various weapon load-outs, not to mention the detailed cockpit and pilot.

I’m not a pro, but I humbly believe I did a pretty good job; it took me a little over a month to finish it, and overall, I’m satisfied with the result. I spent about 2 to 4 hours at night, in my garage where I’ve set up a small workshop for my new-found hobby. (I’m planning on building the F-4 C/D Phantom II next – one of my cousins flew one when he was in the IRAF, and I got to sit the in cockpit when I was 6 years old, I’ll never forget it).

Here are a few pics:

Engine and Cart:

Cart_1.jpg

Engine_a.jpg

Engine_d.jpg

Engine_e.jpg

Engine_b.jpg

Engine_c.jpg

Cockpit (my favorite part to assemble):

Cockpit_a.jpg

Cockpit_c.jpg

Cockpit_f.jpg

Cockpit_d.jpg

Cockpit_g.jpg

  Cockpit_e.jpg

Pilot:

Pilot_a.jpg

Pilot_b.jpg

Pilot_c.jpg
Pilot_d.jpg Pilot_e.jpg

Pilot_f.jpg

Weapons and Seat:

Seat_a.jpg

Seat_b.jpg Seat_c.jpg
Weapons_acc_a.jpg

Weapons_acc_b.jpg Weapons_acc_c.jpg

Done (I'll take more, better, higher-rez pics):

Done_1.jpg

Done_3.jpg
Done_2.jpg

Engine_d.jpg

What about you, are you into model kits?

Sam
Your biggest fan!
CPU: AMD Ryzen 7 5800X3D GPU: AMD Radeon RX 6800XT
16 Replies
rtbh99
Challenger