cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Resources

moeefe
Adept I

I need help with making my apu switch to gpu when i launch games.

Hello,

Recently I bought a gaming laptop and its my first time using AMD. When I launch games sometimes my laptop recognizes them and swap from apu to gpu but recently it has not been doing it. I need someone to lead me in the right direction where I can always have my gpu running or disable apu. please help!

Thank you

1 Solution

Open an Asus support ticket. There may have been a Windows Update that is causing this behavior. Asus Support will know more about how your laptop works than an AMD user forum.

Ryzen R7 5700X | B550 Gaming X | 2x16GB G.Skill 3600 | Radeon RX 7900XT
Ryzen R7 5700G | B550 Gaming X | 2x8GB G.Skill 4000 | Radeon Vega 8 IGP
Ryzen R5 5600 | B550 Gaming Edge | 4x8GB G.Skill 3600 | Radeon RX 6800XT

View solution in original post

0 Likes
6 Replies
FunkZ
Grandmaster

For mobile switchable graphics functionality ensure you are using the manufacturer provided drivers and setup.

What is your laptop make and model?

I have the newest drivers updated to make sure its working properly. This all randomly happened yesterday for some reason, was working fine before. Here is the laptop I have.

https://www.bestbuy.com/site/asus-tuf-gaming-a16-16-165hz-gaming-laptop-fhd-amd-ryzen-7-7735hs-with-...

Open an Asus support ticket. There may have been a Windows Update that is causing this behavior. Asus Support will know more about how your laptop works than an AMD user forum.

0 Likes
mengelag
Volunteer Moderator

There should be an option in the bios to turn off or prioritize your GPU at start-up.

Ryzen 7800X3D - Radeon 7900XT - MSI Tomahawk X670e MB - 64gb 6000mhz G-Skill Neo - Noctua NH D15 - Seasonic Focus V3 GX-1000W PSU - 4TB Samsung Gen. 5 NVMe - Fractal Torrent Case - ROG PG48UQ OLED