cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Processors

foolnotion
Adept I

Ryzen 5950X downclocking to 1.5Ghz under load (thermals are ok)

Hi everyone,

I am a software engineer and researcher who works with Linux. I am running my own, compute-intensive, heavily threaded, C++ code which makes use of AVX2 instructions.

I've recently noticed some weird behavior when running my software, namely unexplained frequency drops under load. The problem seems to manifest with hyperthreading (empirically, I would say when the number of threads > 24). Here is a graph showing the problem in the top chart, program running with 32 threads. The red line shows temperature, so we can see that the frequency goes down even if the temperature is under 60C. The other two charts show other systems where everything is fine. For these reasons I suspect that I have a hardware problem and not a software one.

foolnotion_0-1716322310331.png

I should mention that other software runs fine:

• Cinebench R23 getting 27-28K (all core frequency ~4.25, temps ~72C)
  • Cinebench 2024 (running in Win11 VM) gettings ~1350 (all core frequency ~4.4, temps ~80C)

System specs:

• GPU: Red Devil AMD Radeon RX 6900 XT
  • CPU: RYZEN 7 5950X 16 CORE 32 THREADS
  • Motherboard: MEG X570 UNIFY (MS-7C35)
  • BIOS Version: 7C35vAJ
  • RAM: G.Skill Trident Neo Z 64GB (2 kits of 32 Gb DDR4-3600, CL16-16-16-36, 4 x 16Gb sticks total)
  • PSU: be quiet! Dark Power Pro 12 1500W
  • Case: Lian Li O11D
  • Operating System & Version: NixOS 24.05.20240520.4cc0234 (Uakari) x86_64
  • GPU Drivers: Mesa RADV 3602.0
  • Chipset Drivers: N/A (provided by linux kernel)
  • Cooling: The system is water cooled, it was 2 x 360 radiators with noctua fans and a D5 pump (EK quantum something distro plate), TechN cold plate for the CPU

What I have tried, without any success:

• multiple linux kernels, schedulers, performance governors, live distros -> the problem remains