cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Processors

kalind
Journeyman III

ryzen hangs such that - even power and reset button wont work

I am a computer builder from India, so far i have built more than 300 very high end Intel Core i9 or AMD Ryzen 9.

For the last three to four years I've noticed that many of Ryzen PCs hangs quite unexpectedly. And I've experienced this with many Ryzens. Each system has a completely

• different configuration,
  • different motherboards,
  • different RAM (Dual or Quad Channel with 64GB or 128GB, supported RAM modules and unsupported Modules, XMP and without XMP )
  • different graphics card,
  • different PSUs
  • different applications.

Mainly, PCs are not overclocked at all. Although we did overvoltage RAM a bit without overclocking it to test stability but that didn't help. We tried with loosen RAM timings but that didn't help too.

When this special hangs occurs then

• BSOD does not come 
  • the system hangs like some video is paused on the screen,
  • the power and reset buttons of the chassis stop working
  • NUMBER and CAPS led of keyboard don't respond.

But system remain powered on, motherboard RGB keep glowing, Liquid Cooler and its fan keep spinning.  so one need to use power switch of the PSU or the main electrical power switch to total power off the PC. Yes, I have marked that I can more easily reproduce such hang while Corona render of 3DS is going on. but it should not be ignored that such PC hang also happen even while nothing heavy going on (CPU load is 2-3% and temperature is at very low side).