Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Processors

Dave007
Journeyman III

Ram speed

Subject: RE: Re: Model AM02 CPU: AMD RYZEN 7 375H

Hi Folks

My computer as listed came from Amazon recently with one single 16gb DDR4 ram module inside listed at 2666mhz.

I have replaced this to upgrade the ram with 2 x 16 GB DDR4 Kingston fury modules listed at 2666mhz.

The computer has recognized the ram as 32GB so all good.

However, it says in the settings it's running at 2400Mhz can I set this to the faster ram module speed of 2666 in the bios ???? or will the CPU not work at that speed? I presume it would help if I could alter this.

Any help would be gratefully appreciated as I am only a novice at pc specs

Regards Dave

0 Likes
7 Replies
MADZyren
Paragon

Go to BIOS, enable XMP setting (in some BIOSes it's called D.O.C.P) and it should work fine, but I don't see anything "as listed".

misterj
Big Boss

Dave007, you may be able to run 2666 MHz but the specifications say 2400 MHz. Definitely worth a try as MADZren said. I am assuming a 3750H. Please correct your title. Thanks and enjoy, John.

Sorry yes its a 3750H

0 Likes

Depends.

Did your laptop come with Non-Removable RAM or a permanent RAM installed?

If it didn't then you would need to go to your RAM Manufacturer to find out if the RAM you purchased is 100% compatible  with your laptop and at what speeds. Once that is verified you should be able to enter BIOS Settings and see if it has any settings for overclocking the RAM.

BUT if your laptop came with Non-Removable RAM or permanent RAM installed then you need to find out what that RAM speed is. Because that will determine the speed of all your RAM that you install in your laptop.

RAM will always run at the slowest RAM installed.

In the past most Laptop's had one Non-removable RAM or permanent RAM installed which is why I am asking.

NOTE: Can you post the exact Make & Model of the Laptop Model you have?

Thanks for your reply and help, Its actually not a laptop