cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

OpenGL & Vulkan

joren_1147
Adept I

[RX6700 XT OPenGL] Compute Shader write into Image3d Error!

Hi, I'm a graphics engine developer, the software uses the OpenGL API, and recently I used a compute shader to do some work.

I used an image3d, the data type is RGBA16F, and the size is 256*128*32. In the compute shader, after getting the result, write it into the texture.

But unfortunately, no matter how I code it, I can only get the correct result of layer 0 (use the Render Doc to see, slice 0, all the results of this layer are correct).

and the remaining 31 layers have no results.

But on Nvidia graphics card, everything works fine!

The code like as follow:

SAMPLER2D(inputTexture, 0);

layout(rgba16f, binding=0) writeonly uniform image3D outputTarget0;

layout(rgba16f, binding=1) writeonly uniform image3D outputTarget1;

layout(rgba16f, binding=2) writeonly uniform image3D outputTarget2;

layout(rgba16f, binding=3) writeonly uniform image3D outputTarget3;

NUM_THREADS(1, 1, 1)
void main(){

ivec3 index = ivec3(gl_GlobalInvocationID);

//call the function, get all the result

vec4 reuslt0,result1,result2,result3;

myFunc(reuslt0,result1,result2,result3);

imageStore(outputTarget0, index , reuslt0);
imageStore(outputTarget1, index , reuslt1);
imageStore(outputTarget2, index , reuslt2);
imageStore(outputTarget3, index , reuslt3);

}

c++ code like that: 

initTexture3d();

createTexture3d();

bindAllTextureSlot(); 

shader.dispatch(256,128,32);

I try to used the image3D with RG16F, and only write R channel and G channel, It's work fine, but RGB16F can not!

I don't understand what's happening inside the driver, If you have any suggestions, please be sure to let me know!

Thank you!

My computer hardware list is as follows:

AMD RX6700XT (Adrenalin Edition 23.Q1.1 2023/4/24)

Intel i7-6800k

0 Likes
1 Solution

Hi @joren_1147 ,

Below is the feedback from the OpenGL team: