cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Graphics Cards

sghost
Adept II

Can someone answer this GPU and CPU question?

Hello!

I'm new to upgrading PC's and I currently have these components in my PC 

Motherboard: ASRock A320

GPU: RX 570

CPU: Ryzen 3 3100

My question is, if I get the RX 6600 GPU (which seems to be compatible with my CPU and MB via pcpartpicker.com), would it bottleneck? I just want to make sure I would be okay before purchasing this GPU, since it's been suggested to be an upgrade from my 570. 

0 Likes
19 Replies
xlox
Forerunner

don't know if cpu will bottleneck , but should be a decent upgrade

Thank you!

0 Likes
jamesc359
Forerunner

Every component is a bottleneck. That's because one game may require more CPU resources than another. CPU, GPU, RAM, SSD, they're all affected by software in different ways. As such bottleneck is kinda of an over exaggerated concept.

That said, if you enjoy playing on High/Ultra graphics settings then I highly doubt your CPU will be a bottleneck in most games. So I say go for it! You can always upgrade your CPU later if necessary/desired.

I appreciate your comment!

But, is it okay to bottleneck slightly? I'm not sure what the right percentage would be. I'm slowly upgrading my 2020 prebuilt, as I already upgraded my ram from 8GB to 16GB as well as putting in an M.2(500GB SSD). I don't play my games on High or Ultra, since it doesn't really look different to me. I only play Final Fantasy XIV, WoW and God of War, so it's nothing TOO intense. 

0 Likes

according the Bottleneck websites anything above 10% is considered to be bottlenecked.

Anything below 10% probably wouldn't affect your game playing too much.

The image you posted shows that at 1K and 2k Resolutions you have more than 10% bottlenecking that is why it is colored Red.

If you scroll towards the bottom of that review it will tell you if it is the GPU or CPU that is bottlenecking.

0 Likes