Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Graphics Cards

jerichojun
Adept I

Black Screen When Gaming with 6700 XT

I hope everyone is having a great day.

I bought a 6700 XT from Sapphire Technology in 2021 and it has been working well until last year. Because I am using an AMD CPU without an integrated GPU, the 6700 XT was the only graphics processor on my PC. Last year I started seeing my screen go black randomly while all the software seemed to be running. The black screen would normally last for a few minutes before everything went back to normal and I get an error message saying that my GPU driver was timed out. I always keep the AMD driver up-to-date so I assumed that the latest version of it was buggy. So I rolled back the driver and installed a more dated but stable version of it. The black screen never happened again. Not until recently.

Recently I started playing DIABLO 4 on my PC and it says my GPU driver needs an update or the game won't start. So I updated the driver and the game was running well. However, after a day or two I started to get the black screen again. This time I think the software and apps were frozen as well because I waited for about 10 minutes and nothing came back. I also noticed that the fan was running fast when I was playing the game, but went completely silent when the black screen occurred. The other thing is that the black screen comes sooner every time. The first black screen happened when I was playing it for about half an hour. I force-restarted my PC and tried again and it only lasted for a couple of minutes before my PC went black and frozen.

I am aware that the GPU is no longer warranty-protected. Does this mean that this GPU has gotten too "old" and "weary"? Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

0 Likes
7 Replies
432hz
Adept II

When you updated your GPU drivers, did you do a clean install (AMD Cleanup Utility and/or DDU)?