Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

General Discussions

Peliux
Adept I

RX 7900 xtx-cards and heating

Hi,

I'm about to order a new computer and since GPU's are quite expensive I would like to feel that I buy something that is good. I'm leaning towards getting an 7900 XTX card since it's performance seems good compared to price vs Nvidia 4080. The thing that worries me is that I've read about heating issues. I found an answer in a post on this forum that I found really helpful. It stated that the heating issue only occur in reference cards. The custom cards have their own heating solutions and should be fine. These two cards: ASrock Radeon RX7900XTX Phantom Gaming 24GB OC and SAPPHIRE PULSE RX 7900 XTX GAMING OC 24GB should be custom cards, right? Are either of these two consider the better option?

Sorry if it's a stupid question. I'm not very tech savvy.

0 Likes
2 Solutions
Moist
Adept III

It's the made by amd cards that have the heat/vapor chamber issue. The models you have listed there are OC/overclock models so they would have partner designed coolers and shouldn't have the overheat issue. Hope this helps.

View solution in original post

MADZyren
Paragon

1) Make sure the model you buy, doesn't have the same kind of cooler than AMD reference model (if it looks the same, it is the same, if it looks different, it is different - though most likely problem has already been solved and only working models are sold anymore)

2) Sapphire is a good brand, maybe the best AMD GPU brand there is?